Blenheim is named after a site in England and had a general store by 1845. However it was not incorporated into a town until 30 years later. In 1837 James W. Little, a militia officer and land speculator of neighbouring Raleigh Township, purchased land here at the intersection of Ridge Road and Communication Road, the latter planned by Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe to connect the town of Chatham with Lake Erie. The area consists of rich fertile farmland noted for sugar beets, tomatoes and corn.
Today Blenheim’s claim to fame is the RM Classic Car Exhibit, which is one of North America’s finest collections of classic and antique vehicles. A guided tour gives you a close up view of more then 50 classic cars and other exceptionally rare automobiles from the past century. Visitors also get the opportunity to view these classic cars being restored by RM’s restoration experts.
Blenheim is also the place for exceptional shopping with a fine selection of boutiques and specialty stores and a fine choice of restaurants. In July downtown businesses offer their wares at exceptionally low prices during Ontario’s longest running carnival-sidewalk sale, the Cherry Festival and Sidewalk Days.
Blenheim also possesses two golf courses and picturesque walking trails at nearby Rondeau Provincial Park, or visit the award winning Giffen’s Maple Syrup Farm which is open year round, and learn about how maple syrup products are made.
We are a community museum and library.
Recently renovated by the Blenheim Beautification Committee (BBC) and with Blenheim BIA.
RM Classic Cars and Auto Restoration, the world’s largest vintage and auction restoration company is located here.