Wolf Creek was the original name of the town, but in 1897 it was changed to Springdale in honour of the town’s fresh water spring, situated in a dale (defined as an open river valley in a hilly area). The spring, now near the community wharf, percolates fresh water for thirsty hikers and cyclists to this day. Activities based from Springdale, population 2700, are many. They include fishing charters to some of the excellent trout lakes; daily boat tours of the bay; wildlife tours with sightings of whales, moose, caribou and eagles; iceberg viewing tours; kayak and canoe excursions; and visits to abandoned mines. In the wintertime, there is plenty of cross-country and telemark skiing, snowmobiling, and ice fishing.
The town is situated on the timber-rich northwest coast of Newfoundland near the mouth of Indian River. Timber provided the backbone of the economy, along with mining, since mills first opened in the late 19th century. The town sits on Halls Bay, so named after a ship’s captain who, along with his crew, were murdered and decapitated by Beothuk natives in mid 18th century.
The town’s facilities include a hockey rink, curling club, tennis courts, a soccer pitch and softball field.
It exhibits artifacts from 1940-60's, such as a pump organ, a daybed, as well as tools, rifles, swords of...
Located on the beautiful Springdale Harbor Front, this museum provides a look back on life in Newfoundland in the 1800's.