Brigus is a small fishing community located in Conception Bay in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada. Brigus is located approximately 80 km west of St. John's, and is accessible via Route 70-A just 18 km from the Trans Canada Highway.
Brigus is a popular tourist stop, renowned for its scenic qualities and places of interest. Among these are the site of The Vindicator, where the Brigus newspaper was printed at the turn of the century; the Convent of Mercy, built in 1860 for the Mercy Sisters who came from Ireland in 1861; the local Orange Lodge; Hawthorne Cottage, the home of Captain Bob Barlett and now a national historic site; "The Tunnel" bored through solid rock on the waterfront in 1860 to provide access to a deep water berth for the Bartlett sailing ships; the Stone Barn Museum; Jubilee Club, the meeting place of the "Merchant Princes of Brigus" from the late 1800s to the mid 1900s; St. George' s Anglican Church, consecrated in 1845; Brigus United Church, dedicated in 1875 on the site of an earlier church; and the Roman Catholic Church, built in 1832.
Recently restored and developed into a most unique showplace of Brigus history, with photographs dating back to 1876 and artifacts covering...
It offers a lively look at the golden age of outport life in the beautiful town of Brigus.