Canada Travel Guide
Canada Travel Guide
Canada Travel Guide - Newfoundland and Labrador

Fisherman's Museum and Porter House

The Fisherman’s Museum depicts the life and times of fishermen from the Port de Grave peninsula as far back as the 1700’s and was founded by American artist George Noseworthy who had come to Newfoundland in 1966 to discover his roots.

back back to previous page

(Museum)
The beginning of the museum was basically a cannonball on the shelf of his art studio that Uncle Sandy Porter had given him. Soon other people gave him old items and it was then recognized that a building was needed to house them. A museum board was formalized and funds were raised by chartered memberships, children buying roof shingles, and donations of fish by the fishermen of the community.
The museum was officially opened in 1970. Tourists can visit the museum along with the Porter House and the School House during the summer.
 

 
How to Contact
Fisherman's Museum and Porter House

Port de Grave,
Ph: 709-786-3900
Web: website
Email: send email
 

 
Opening Hours
Open July 1 - Sept 7